July 21, 2012

  • A CHIP IN THE GAME

    It may be a well kept secret, or a little known fact, that some of us seasoned citizens who are perhaps presumed to be put out to pasture are, in fact, far from grazing, still looping the loop.

    The inspired title of this blog was casually dropped during a conversation with fellow blogger, Ruth Spier Rosen. Our mutual friend, Margie, another perennial whose professional past in academia predates the Women’s Movement, had arranged a dinner meeting for the three of us, thinking, correctly, that we would have an animated evening. We did.

    Ruth wrote a series of recipe booklets in the 1950’s, called “Handy Aid Cookbooks’, which after being warehoused for some thirty years, are currently enjoying a revival, via her website:

    http://foodofthefifties.wordpress.com.

    I had asked if she was actively involved in the publishing company founded by Ruth and her husband and now continued by her son. Her reply, “I still have a chip in the game.”

    THE SONG “THE GAMBLER”, WRITTEN BY DON SCHLITZ.AND POPULARIZED BY JOHNNY CASH AND KENNY ROGERS, ADVISES US WHEN IT’S TIME TO “HOLD EM OR FOLD EM”

    THAT’S OK FOR A GAME OF POKER….DO THE SAME RULES APPLY TO THE GAME OF LIFE?

    HOW DOES ONE HANG ON TO HOPE?

    WHEN DOES ONE BET THE FARM?

    WHAT IF THERE’S NO LONGER ANY FARM TO BET?

    Leaving the subject of folks dealing with the short end of their lifeline, or credit line, let’s leap (?) to those at the beginning of their adulthood.

    Since its inception some eight or nine seasons ago, I have avidly followed the only reality show that resonates with me, perhaps because I have such respect and admiration for these beautiful and gifted kids, as in my imagination I match them step for step. The show is “So You Think You Can Dance?”

     Surprisingly, many of them, far from the intensive, costly training and emotional support most receive from proud and indulgent families, have literally propelled themselves into the auditions and emerged winners against unbelievable odds and obstacles. Where and how did they find the inner and outer resources to live their dreams? It seems that dancing in the streets of the inner city or country lanes can be as effective as in a professional studio.

     TRUTH IS, I HAVE A FEW GUILTY SECRETS OF MY OWN:

    My own mother pronounced me a “klutz” (meaning clumsy) when, inspired by my movie idols, I begged for tap dancing lessons.

    At college, in lieu of sports training, I opted for required physical education in the form of modern dance. I LOVED IT! Martha Graham was all the rage and I just might have traded in my paint brushes had there been a dance department at my college.

    When I came to New York in search of a designing career, I was lured by an offer from the fabled Arthur Murray studios to teach ballroom dancing – so how klutzy could I have been? Thanks to Mom, I went back to the drawing board.

     NOW HOW DID I GET FROM KEEPING A CHIP IN THE GAME TO MY SUPPRESSED DESIRE TO PLAY GINGER TO FRED?

     I KNOW! THE LINK IS THIS!

     THE CHIP IN THE GAME IS THE ONGOING DANCE OF LIFE.

     Physics tells us that an object in motion tends to stay in motion. I presume this to also mean the activity of the mind, including the imagination, as well as the physical vehicle with its subjection to wear and tear. You know what they say: “The minute you drive it out of the dealership…..”

     Lately I discovered that I cannot walk as quickly or as long as in the past. After the initial shock that I may have moved to my last mambo diminished, I simply grounded myself in gratitude that I am blessed to have had a long and mostly fun run - and can still take a few curtain calls.

     Clearly the delicate balance between holding and folding ones aspirations in life is as delicate as dancing en pointe.

     LIFE ISN’T ABOUT WAITING FOR THE STORM TO BE OVER. IT’S ABOUT LEARNING TO DANCE IN THE RAIN.
    AUTHOR UNKNOWN


     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *