Month: October 2013

  • EASY COME, EASY GO

    We come into this world with zero possessions other than God-given gifts of body, mind and spirit – tools with which fortunate beings are equipped to navigate our sojourn on earth. When we are finished with our tasks, we bequeath our stories – and their fruits – as a legacy to others – footprints proving that we have indeed been here, done that.

    Logistics of an individual life, though lived as a single unit of all consciousness, can for convenience be regarded as two sides of a coin; one reflecting that which is received, the reverse, that which is released. It’s as basic as breathing.

    IN AND OUT – GIVE AND TAKE

    ACTUALLY THE BREATH HAS THREE PHASES:

    TAKE IN – HOLD — LET OUT

    ALL BREATH CONTROL PRACTICES UTILIZE THIS FACT

    I am living this universal principle as I methodically disseminate my “possessions” and decide what I will acquire, what I will keep and what I will dispose of.

    I have accumulated a lot of stuff. It’s a daunting task to sort it all out, requiring assistance from many angels, heavenly and earthly, known and hidden, recognizable solely by their loving presence and/or miraculous deeds. The flesh and blood variety number far too many to acknowledge here; you know who you are.

    On this plane there are some new players in my drama, arriving in the nick of time to lend their energy and remain as fast friends.  Vinnie and Anna were recently recommended by a close friend and fellow traveler who values their services as a couple who are a prime resource for recycling just about anything – and making it fun!

    “NEVER COMPLAIN, NEVER EXPLAIN.”

    THIS PITHY ADVICE HAS BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO BENJAMIN DISRAELI, WALLIS SIMPSON, KATHERINE HEPBURN AND OTHERS. AT THIS POINT, WITHOUT BITCHING, MOANING OR COMPLAINING, I WOULD LIKE TO OFFER SOME WORDS THAT CLARIFY MY ATTRACTION TO OBJECTS FOR WHICH I HAVE AN AFFINITY/PERCEIVE AS BEAUTIFUL. YES, I SPEAK MOSTLY TO MYSELF.

    HOARDERS AND COLLECTORS

     Harry Selfridge had it right when he practically single-handedly turned shopping beyond necessities into a form of seduction, of perhaps the most addictive and satisfying nature. Long before Bloomies changed its’ image from dry goods store to fashion bastion, American born Harry Gordon Selfridge’s emporium on Oxford Street in London at the turn of the twentieth century provided a playground for the average citizen – mostly women, both homemakers and the newly emerging working girl. This first modern department store presented affordable ready-to-wear and accessories – among almost anything else that could be desired – of good quality, now available to the average wage earner, filling both practical and aesthetic functions. (Are you watching the PBS Masterpiece Classic “Mr. Selfridge”?}

    People have wondered if I am a hoarder. In fact, I am a collector – jewelry, handbags, shoes, scarfs – I am like a moth to flame. Since my new home will be less spacious than my present one, the challenge is one of editing.

    One of the differences between a hoarder and a collector is that of respect toward the objects in question and their organization. “A place for everything and everything in its place.”
    Benjamin Franklin

    Another distinction is the uniqueness of what is collected. Hoarders are more likely to accumulate old newspapers and bits of string than teapots or antique toys.

    A THING OF BEAUTY IS A JOY FOREVER
    John Keats

    In past moments of introspection I have considered overhauling my overstock so that my offspring will not have to undertake – pun intended – this gargantuan endeavor when I leave for some ethereal thing-less dimension. So Carol and Rick, regard this as a token of my love so that you will have kind and forgiving memories of a mother who did it Her Way!

    SO NO EXCESS BAGGAGE – ONLY GRATITUDE FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO LEARN  DISCERNMENT AND APPRECIATION FOR THE BEST THAT WE, IN PARTNERSHIP WITH DIVINITY, CAN CO-CREATE, MAKE USE OF FOR THE BENEFIT OF ALL; JOYFULLY EXCHANGING WORLDLY GOODS FOR OUR ULTIMATE HOME – ASCENSION INTO ETERNITY.

    I ARRIVED SMALL AND WEAK
    I SHALL LEAVE OLD AND BOLD!